CFF Announces 2019 Class of Awardees

Posted in: CFF News

On May 22, 2019, the Classroom of the Future Foundation (CFF) will hold its 16th Annual Innovation in Education Awards at SeaWorld. This event brings together more than 500 educators and business leaders to highlight champions of educational innovation in the community, as well as exceptional students pursuing careers in STEM education.

At the event, CFF highlights specific school programs with “Innovation Awards,” a very special recognition that honors our four classroom grantees. These are all programs that are getting students excited about learning and increasing student achievement. Educators apply for Innovation Grants through an online request for application process. On March 11th, an application review panel consisting of leaders in the business and education communities met to select winners in the following award categories:

    • Inspire Award: This award is given to the program that inspires, excites, motivates, sparks and/or influences teachers to teach and students to learn through exceptional, unprecedented or extraordinary programs. 
    • Innovate Award: This award showcases the creative innovations of the one program that facilitates enhanced teaching and learning. This award specifically focuses on the uniqueness of the “program actions” that promotes teacher innovation, increases student interest and drives performance and/or achievement.
    • Achieve Award: This award showcases an innovative program that is able to quantify program results or achievements that drive student learning. It specifically focuses on the “program evidence” that directly correlates to positive student outcomes.
    • Impact Award: This award is the most prestigious award given to the ONE program that embodies the first three attributes: inspire, innovate, and achieve which culminate to realize the fourth: IMPACT on teachers, students and your community. This program exceeds all others in its ability to impact students and teachers through inspiring, innovative, exceptional, unprecedented and/or extraordinary program components that are verified by quantitative and sustained results. Additionally, this program substantiates its sustainability and can be replicated by others.

In addition to the Innovation Awards, CFF recognizes a group of educators with “Special Awards” for the extraordinary impact that they each have made on the learning environment in San Diego County. Special Award winners are selected by the CFF Board of Directors.

Lastly, CFF recognizes the achievement of exceptional students in the AVID program by rewarding their accomplishments with High Tech Academic Achievement Scholarships to pursue a STEM degree. 

Our 2019 Class of Awardees exemplify the mission of CFF and are truly making a difference in the lives of students. Join us in honoring them today.

Congratulations to all of our award winners!

2019 Innovation Awards

Impact Award STEAMing Ahead! Chula Vista Elementary School District
Achieve AwardVideo Production & Digital StorytellingRancho Minerva Middle School, Vista Unified School District
Innovate AwardDistrict Design 2022Del Mar Union School District
Inspire AwardGuitar ConstructionWest Hills High School, Grossmont Union High School District
Honorable Mention Impact AwardFire Technology and Emergency Medical Response Internship PathwayHealth Sciences High & Middle College
Honorable Mention Inspire AwardProtecting Our Watershed: Inquiry to ActionEscondido Union School District

2019 Special Awards

Todd W. Gutschow Visionary & Outstanding Leadership AwardDrew Schlosberg, Advertising Relations DirectorThe San Diego Union-Tribune
Innovative Superintendent AwardDr. Ben Churchill, SuperintendentCarlsbad Unified School District
Innovative Educator AwardAdina Sullivan-Marlow, K12 Educational Technology CoordinatorSan Marcos Unified School District
Innovative Principal AwardKim Morton, PrincipalT.H.E. Leadership Academy, Vista Unified School District
College & Career Pathways Educator of the Year AwardMegan Arias, Director of Secondary ProgramsCarlsbad Unified School District
SD CUE Innovative TOSA of the Year AwardKelli Mocny, Integrated Technology TOSAOceanside Unified School District
SD CUE Innovative Educator of the Year AwardMarisa Thompson, TeacherCarlsbad Unified School District

2019 High Tech Academic Achievement Scholarship Winners

Christian Tocal Lincoln High School
Salwan ShatharEl Cajon Valley High School
Halimo FarahCrawford High School
Fadi AlbanaEl Cajon Valley High School
Sonia JaureguiMonte Vista High School
Ricardo PerezMission Hills High School
Nhi NguyenSan Marcos High School
Elizabeth Lopez-NavaSweetwater High School
Celeste Ithai Vargas VeraSan Ysidro High School
Angel Zayas-VargasSage Creek High School
Nickolas MabiniWestview High School
Kristofer MendozaMonte Vista High School
Gerardo CoronaSteel Canyon High School
Bahaa LawrenceEl Cajon Valley High School
Jenna BonkerRancho Bernardo High School
Sara ToumiKearny High
Khavin HolleyKearny High
Jonathan AguirreClairemont High School
Johnlerrie GazaKearny High
Jillian AbastaOceanside High School
Erika GastelumSweetwater High School
Spencer Venegas GarciaSan Pasqual High School

Meet the Innovation Award Winners

Impact Award: STEAMing Ahead!, Chula Vista Elementary School District

The “STEAMing Ahead!” maker-centered innovative educational experience enables students to build their self-efficacy by identifying and exploring their own personal strengths, interests, and values through the Innovation Station, Energy Station, and Hydro Station programs within the district. These experiences enable students to connect with potential careers as they engage in hands-on, problem-based learning opportunities faced in the current workforce and priority sectors. Ultimately, helping them to see their future selves and to find their place in the world.

Achieve Award: Video Production & Digital Storytelling, Rancho Minerva Middle School, Vista Unified School District

The Video Production & Digital Storytelling at Rancho Minerva is a nationally & globally recognized program where students learn [and are responsible for] the video production process. By having a clear plan & process, RMMS students produce powerful stories to share with their school, their community, and the world around them. Rancho Minerva is a Panasonic, Kid Witness News school, with students representing the United States at a Global Summit in Japan for the past two years.

Innovate Award: District Design 2022, Del Mar Union School District

Del Mar students, educators, and staff are in an unrelenting pursuit of the extraordinary school experience. They are revolutionizing the traditional school system through relevant and meaningful learning experiences to better prepare today’s students to thrive in this age of acceleration. This initiative is a district-wide effort to move from compliance to innovation, and is built on three core levers: 1) Strong Academic Core and High Quality Instruction; 2) Mastery of Skills that Matter Most; and 3) Flexible Learning Environments.

Inspire Award: Guitar Construction, West Hills High School, Grossmont Union High School District

Guitar Construction is a program inspired by Bob Taylor and Taylor Guitars. It’s aim is to address the need for more hands-on woodworking courses in high school. The course is designed to allow schools to teach the art and skill of woodworking without the need for a full woodshop. Students learn design-thinking, the safe use of tools/machines, and the fundamentals of guitar making. Knowing they will take home their hand made guitar inspires students take pride in their work and teaches valuable essential skills.

Stay tuned for more information about our Special Award winners and High Tech Academic Achievement Scholarship winners!

Change this in Theme Options
Change this in Theme Options