CFF Announces 2018 Class of Awardees

Posted in: CFF News

On May 23, 2018, the Classroom of the Future Foundation (CFF) will hold its 15th Anniversary Innovation in Education Awards at SeaWorld. This event brings together more than 500 educators and business leaders to highlight champions of educational innovation in the community, as well as exceptional students pursuing careers in STEM education.

At the event, CFF highlights specific school programs with “Innovation Awards,” a very special recognition that honors classrooms that are getting students excited about learning and increasing student achievement. Educators apply for Innovation Awards through an online application process. On February 26th, an application review panel consisting of leaders in the business and education communities met to select winners in the following award categories:

  • Inspire Award: This award illustrates the unique attributes of the program that get kids excited about learning. This award specifically focuses on the program characteristics responsible for increasing student interest and enhancing student learning.
  • Innovate Award: This award showcases the creative innovations of the programs that facilitate enhanced learning. This award specifically focuses on the uniqueness of the “program actions” that increase student interest and drive achievement.
  • Achieve Award: This award demonstrates the tangible program results that drive student learning. It specifically focuses on the “program evidence” that directly correlates to positive student outcomes.
  • Impact Award: This award is a best-of-show award given to the one program that best embodies all three CFF goals – to inspire, innovate and achieve.

CFF thanks the following judges for their support on the application review panel for the Innovation Awards:

Bob Gordon, G Force Global TechnologiesDr. Nancy Rohland-Heinrich, National University
Gustavo Duarte, Charter-SpectrumNancy Farnan, San Diego State University (Ret.)
Corrie Vaus, Vaus VideoDr. Laura Spencer, Del Mar Union School District
Mary Kraus, Health Sciences High & Middle CollegeAlex Gonzalez, Health Sciences High & Middle College
Tom Dillon, SAIC (Ret.)Andrea Yoder-Clark, University of San Diego
Randy Everett, Everett Digital SolutionsJames Wright, Classroom of the Future Foundation
Jane Schlosberg, Classroom of the Future Foundation

In addition to the Innovation Awards, CFF recognizes a group of educators with “Special Awards” for the extraordinary impact that they each have made on the learning environment in San Diego County. Special Award winners are selected by the CFF Board of Directors.

Our 2018 Class of Awardees exemplify the mission of CFF and are truly making a difference in the lives of students. Join us in honoring them today.

Congratulations to all of our award winners!

2018 Innovation Awards

Impact Award Design & Modeling Program Calavera Hills Middle School, Carlsbad Unified School District
Achieve AwardFarm Lab DREAMS CampusEncinitas Union School District
Innovate AwardTalent Cities ProgramVista Unified School District
Inspire AwardFrom Digital to Physical ProgramValley Middle School, Carlsbad Unified School District
Honorable Mention Achieve AwardInnovation StationChula Vista Elementary School District
Honorable Mention Innovate AwardT.H.E. Leadership Academy GardenT.H.E. Leadership Academy, Vista Unified School District
Honorable Mention Inspire AwardSouth Bay Pumpkin Smash ProgramSweetwater Union High School District

2018 Special Awards

Todd W. Gutschow Visionary & Outstanding Leadership AwardCaroline Winn, Chief Operating OfficerSDG&E
Innovative Superintendent AwardDr. David Miyashiro, SuperintendentCajon Valley Union School District
Innovative Educator AwardDr. Erin English, Director of 21st Century Teaching & LearningOceanside Unified School District
Innovative Principal AwardNicola Labas, PrincipalInnovation Middle School, San Diego Unified School District
Career Pathways Educator of the Year AwardRichard Oka, TeacherClairemont High School, San Diego Unified School District
SDCUE Innovative TOSA of the Year AwardChristine Dixon, Innovation Coordinator TOSADouble Peak K8 School, San Marcos Unified School District
SDCUE Innovative Teacher of the Year AwardCharity Shepard, TeacherDouble Peak K8 School, San Marcos Unified School District

Meet the Winners

Impact Award: Design & Modeling Program, Calavera Hills Middle School, Carlsbad Unified School District

This program provides students with the opportunity to design real solutions for people in the real world. The program leverages community partners, technology, and flexible spaces to create a student-centered course which challenges students to make the world a better place. For example, students are designing prosthetics for children and distributing them around the world!

Achieve Award: Farm Lab DREAMS Campus, Encinitas Union School District

This program provides STEaM education, design thinking, and project-based learning through an organically certified 10 acre school farm. The Farm Lab is a partnership with local neighborhood nonprofits, foundations, and businesses, and the farm provides food to students throughout the district.

Innovate Award: Talent Cities Program, Vista Unified School District

This program is a partnership between Vista Unified School District, New Learning Ventures, the Vista Chamber of Commerce, and local businesses to expand young people’s vision of themselves in the world of work. This program brings middle school students into the workplace and allows them to speak directly to employers about what it takes to be successful.

Inspire Award: From Digital to Physical Program, Valley Middle School, Carlsbad Unified School District

This is the first physical education program to win a CFF Innovation Award. The Digital to Physical program curates professional grade videos and other open educational resources (OER) to engage the digital native student body around health science.

Stay tuned for more information about our Special Award winners!



Change this in Theme Options
Change this in Theme Options